A Slow Start, and Mediocre Finish

I remember watching old re-runs of The Lone Ranger when I was a kid. They were mesmerizing, with a lot of action and the good guys always won. So I was eagerly looking forward to seeing the movie version of my childhood classic. It could have been better.

Don’t get me wrong. Johnny Depp certainly didn’t disappoint. He brought his special brand of characterization and dead-pan humor to the role of Tonto. And Army Hammer played his part well also. I just didn’t appreciate the way the story was presented. Using flashback to tell the origins of the Lone Ranger tends to distract from the tale. It could have been a much better story if they had told it straight through. All in all, I found the tale charming. I wish I could say that I look forward to a sequel, but from what I’ve heard, i doubt this will happen.

Leave a Reply

